Conquering Mountains

20131207-185033.jpg

I’ve been reading about the “nerdlution” movement on Twitter and maybe seeing so many people take up the challenge has inspired me to finally take the plunge and start writing “publicly”. I’m still too scared to commit to a daily ritual though – hence the quote above. Conquering our own fears is by far the most difficult part of any challenge.

I stand in my fourth grade classroom daily and tell my students how important it is to write – it doesn’t matter what, it doesn’t matter how much, just WRITE! And yet, I have found it so hard to convince myself that what I want to put down on ‘paper’ is worthwhile. I read blogs, articles and twitter feeds daily and think to myself “there’s no way I could ever be THAT good”. I talk myself out of trying, but in my heart I really want to be a WRITER.

This is my commitment to me. I know I have things to say. I know that what I write can be read and enjoyed by others. I am going to give it a try.

Thank you #nerdlution for finally getting me to at least start the climb…..

2 thoughts on “Conquering Mountains

  1. You articulate the conundrum that many teachers find themselves in — asking students to write in a way that they don’t write themselves. It’s difficult. But taking the steps towards writing in a supportive public space (and I suspect you won’t find a more supportive community than the folks the #nerdlution) is wonderful. Sure, take it slow, but know that your words and message and learning and inquiry can shape other conversations, and make an impact on others.
    Thanks for writing today and for hitting “post” on your blog.
    Sincerely,
    Kevin

Leave a Reply

